A hiking we will go!

Back in April, I went on a hike at Scott’s Run Nature Preserve, which is right next door to Great Falls National Park.  According to the trail map, we were supposed to hike down an easy embankment to the Potomac River.  Instead we followed a trail that led to a steep rocky cliff overlooking the river.  Needless to say, we never made it down to the Potomac River.  This place always floods after heavy rains so maybe the trail washed away that day…or maybe Aunt Kwyn can’t follow a map to save her life. 😉

4.12 (41)

Come on slow pokes! Follow me!!

4.12 (39)

I see the river behind the trees but who will lower me down the cliff? I should’ve taken rock climbing lessons.

 

Now fast forward three months later.  I went on a hike at Great Falls National Park today.  Guess what?  We found an easy trail to the Potomac River!  Our path led to a boat put-in/take-out area so access to the river was a hop, skip and a jump away.  It was hot and humid outside so the cool water was very refreshing.

Today was another day of Luke’s Adventures.  If you will excuse me, I had a long day and I need to go to sleep now.  Zzzzzzzzz.

~Luke

7.12 (1)

It’s gettin’ hot in here. So take off all your clothes. I’m gettin’ so hot I wanna take my clothes off. (btw, for those not hip, this is a song by Nelly)

7.12 (2)

Do my eyes fool me? I see water down yonder!!

7.12 (4)

Oh. This is a pleasant trickle of water flowing downstream.

7.12 (5)

This is more like it! Hey dude! Mind if I join you?

7.12 (7)

Cowabunga!!!!!

8 responses »

Leave a comment