Sizzling at the dog beach

It’s been hot in the Washington D.C. area.  The temperature has been averaging 95 degrees Fahrenheit, with a heat index of over 100 degrees this past week.  So heading to the beach was an awesome way to cool off!

Unfortunately, our patience was tested as we sat in the car, stuck in traffic.  It took one hour to drive 5 miles from the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Toll Plaza to Kent Island…ARGH!!!!!!!!!  Thank goodness we weren’t heading to the Delaware beaches or Ocean City, Maryland, because it would have been a longer ride.

However, the wait was worth it!  Matapeake Beach was awesome!  We set up our beach towels and picnic blanket near the shade by the trees so Lita and I could cool down away from the sun.

The water was warm but it was also deeper and choppier than the last time we went.  I wore my Big Eddy Float Coat the entire time and showed everyone my swimming abilities.  I swam and swam and swam and swam!  I even dunked my head in the water several times in order to retrieve my tennis ball and frisbee.

We stayed for more than 2 hours before heading to a seafood restaurant for dinner.  Lots of pics were taken so I’ll share them in future blogs.  I hope everyone is staying cool!

~ Luke

7.6.13 005

The water was deep.  I was doggy paddling until my feet could touch the ground.

7.6.13 006

Then I hippity hopped back onto shore.

7.6.13 004

Only to repeat another game of fetch.

7.6.13 085

Lita did not want to play in the water because the waves were too choppy for her comfort.

7.6.13 079

She begrudgingly got in the water because her mommy wanted to cool her down so she wouldn’t overheat.

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

