Lifting the veil…quarantine is over!

First I’d like to amend yesterday’s blog.  I almost bit off a finger for real!  I was playing fetch outside yesterday and I accidentally grabbed Aunt Kwyn’s finger and chomped down on it instead of the stick.  Sorry.  Are we still friends?  Love you.  Bye bye.

October 15, 2012
Oopsy!  Good thing you bought me aloe. Now you can use it too! Since I received my rabies shot earlier, you won’t be foaming at the mouth and calling yourself Cujo any time soon, right?

Guess what?  I am 17 weeks old and I weigh 32 pounds.  I went to the vet for a follow up yesterday and she recommended that we cut back on my food a tiny bit.  She didn’t call me fat…just wide.  It’s because I’ve got the double whammy of being both a lab and a beagle.  These two breeds are notorious for overeating.  We must be proactive so I can maintain my svelte figure.

Do you hear this Uncle Tony?  You must resist my charm and stay strong because I Scooby Doo you all the time!  Mommy says she loves me just the way I am and it’s okay if I have Shakira/Beyonce hips and a J. Lo booty.  But we will cut down on my food because I want to be healthy.

I received my rabies and bordetella injections yesterday.  Do you know what this means?  Quarantine is over and I can play with dogs that I don’t know!!!  Whooooppeeeee!

I didn’t cry or whimper like last week.  I was a big boy and took it like a man!  I’m also happy to report that I didn’t need Benadryl this time.  No adverse effects.  I’m healthy as a horse.

Something shocking did happen to me at the vet clinic and it had nothing to do with cutting back on my food.  All this time I’ve been loved by sooooo many people, it’s ridiculous.  Well, that changed yesterday.  While I was waiting for Aunt Kwyn to pay the bill, a grumpy old man with a little lap dog yelled at me.  He said I barked too much and I was too loud.  How rude!  I just wanted to play with his dog.  Aunt Kwyn was irritated at him.  She almost set me loose so I could jump on that little dog.  But she was nice.  She pet me and said I was a good boy.  Yes I am!

On to lighter news.  I’m using today’s blog to reminisce on how much I’ve grown since I was a 7 week old and 10 pound baby.  For starters, I tripled my weight.  I may whimper like a baby at times but I don’t bark like one anymore.  I’ve got a strong big boy bark now.  I don’t howl like a beagle all the time but it comes out every once in a while.

I’m very smart and catch on quickly.  I know the difference between the drawer where treats are kept and the drawer where medicine is kept.  If the treat drawer is opened, I sit right there waiting for a Scooby snack.  If the medicine drawer is opened, I immediately run and hide under the chair.

I also learned a lot of new vocabulary.  I know how to sit and stay…but whether or not I obey is a different story. 😉  I know what “no” and “bad boy” means.  My favorites are “who wants yummy,” “go get the ball” and “let’s go for a walk.”  I also understand “who is that?” and “where’s your toy.”  I’m beginning to catch on to “go for a car ride.”  Just imagine how much smarter and well behaved I’ll be when I take obedience classes!

Speaking of car rides, I love sticking my head out the window and having my ears flop!  I need goggles.  It would make a great Christmas present.  Hint.  Hint.  Santa Claus, are you reading this?

August 26, 2012
This is so incredibly cool. I can smell everything!

September 15, 2012
Weee!  Weee!  Weee!  Am I annoying you?

Here’s an interesting story.  Last week I was in the backyard at night.  It was pitch black out there.  I saw something in the dark about 100 feet away so I started growling in case it was Yogi Bear and Boo Boo trying to steal my stash of Scooby Snacks (we live by the Blue Ridge mountains and sometimes bears wander into neighborhoods looking for food).  I acted tough at first and inched towards it.  Then I got scared and panicked.  I sort of hid behind Aunt Kwyn for protection…save the young, sacrifice the old!  Well, she turned on the back light so she could see what I was growling at.  She was prepared to protect us from zombies!  To our surprise, it was a bunny rabbit.  Yep!  A big old frightening looking rascally rabbit.  I believe he called himself Bugs Bunny.  When we walked up closer to him, he hopped away.  I started using my beagle nose and sniffed the area.  I realized rabbits are the ones who manufacture these M&M pellets that I like to eat.  I know.  I know.  Eeeewwww.  Bad boy.  It’s not good for me.  But they’re everywhere!  I’m just trying to help clean up the yard.

I recently discovered that behind these things called blinds, are windows!  Oh my!  What a discovery!  I can see everything and everyone outside now!  What took me so long?  I feel gypped the last couple months.

October 13, 2012
The veil was lifted and I saw enlightenment. My life has changed forever.

I can do this all day! This is so much better than that little window by the front door.

Here’s an idea of how much I’ve grown in the past couple months.  This is me in my medium sized harness back in August.  It was too big on me at first.  I weighed about 13 little baby pup pup pounds.  This was the smallest setting.

August 21, 2012
Doesn’t it look like a patrol belt?

By September, my harness fit just right.  I was a handsome young bloke.  It looked really good on me.  I prefered walking around the neighborhood with my harness because I didn’t choke.

I even know the routine!  Left foot in one loop.  Right foot in other loop.  Don’t bite it!  Click.  Let’s go for a walk.

September 27, 2012
It fits me perfectly! My grandparents say I look like a parachuter when I wear it.

Then October rolled around and someone must have zapped it with a shrinking gun.  The extensions were maxed out and it was getting tighter by the day!

October 8, 2012
This was me in the vet’s office last week. It was the last time I wore my harness. Farewell my friend. You served me well.

Mommy bought me a large sized harness last week.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t fit me yet.  Way too loose.  It makes no sense because it’s the same brand, just one size bigger.  Why wouldn’t they start the setting where the medium size left off?  I’m writing a letter to customer service after I publish this blog.  They need to hear my 2 cents.  It’s been quite unpleasant being leashed up by my collar this week…and it’s ONLY Tuesday!

October 15, 2012
I’m still swimming in my new harness. It’s so big, it falls off when I start running around.

I will remain optimistic and strive for fitting into my harness by the end of the week.  I’ve got things to do this weekend.  Places to go.  Doggies to play with.  Wish me luck! ~ Luke

Leave a Reply

