3…2…1…Lift off!

Hi!  My name is Luke and I’m a rescue dog.  I’m a black lab/beagle mix.  I have a sunny disposition and I’m a happy-go-lucky pup.

My mommy’s name is Jenny.  You can find all my pictures on her Facebook page.  As for me, I’m not a sheep, therefore I do not have Facebook. 😉

My birthday is on June 15, 2012.  I may be one of the youngest puppy bloggers out there at almost 17 weeks old (with Aunt Kwyn’s help).  Precocious, I know.

My story starts out sad…cue violin music.  My siblings and I were born in Alabama.  Someone heard us crying in a field at night while it was raining.  We ended up being taken to an animal shelter in North Carolina.  Unfortunately, it was a high kill shelter.  Yoiks!

An animal rescue group in Maryland heard about us and agreed to take us in.  Someone from the shelter drove us from North Carolina to Maryland and left us in a box by the front door.  The rescue group was closed on the weekend so we remained in the box until Monday morning.  It was summertime and hot.  We were infested with fleas, mange and worms.  Double yoiks!

I’m happy to report that all of my siblings and I were adopted.  While we were being fostered, I was the most active and playful of the litter.  I was the first puppy to wake up every morning and all I wanted to do was play, play, play and play some more.  This is why Josh, who is mommy’s boyfriend, picked me.  So does this make him puppy daddy?!

My home is in Gainesville.  Virginia…not Florida.  I picked the Trans to be my indentured slaves.  Let’s be for realz here.  I own them.  They keep me warm and safe.  They feed, walk and play with me.  Most important of all, they love me to pieces.  I made a great choice!

Due to all of my medical malaise, I was put on too many antibiotics.  I was full of poison!  This made me a sick puppy.  Triple yoiks!

Thank goodness Aunt Kwyn has a friend who is a holistic veterinarian.  Dr. Kim came over and checked on me.   I’m currently being detoxed!  I’ve been taking probiotics, milk thistle, organic raw unfiltered apple cider vinegar with the ‘mother’ and aloe…not all at once, of course.

I’m feeling stronger and stronger every day.  I’m on a high protein, grain-free, mostly organic diet.  What can I say?  I eat healthier than most humans.   But don’t let my healthy diet fool you.  I will Scobby Doo you for junk food treats (just ask Uncle Tony).  My belly is never full!

I’ve been gaining about 3 pounds a week.  I’m currently 29.5 pounds but I’m still growing into my paws.  The “experts” guesstimate that I will be around 50 pounds.  We shall see.

This is a picture of me this morning, surrounded by a bunch of my toys.

I play with every single one of my toys daily…and they’re all mine!

I hope you enjoyed my first foray into the blogosphere.  Below are some pics from the first week I was adopted.  We’ve got a couple months of my adventures to catch up on so you’ll be hearing and seeing a lot more of me soon.  Until next time!  ~Luke

August 10, 2012
Adoption day.

I was 7 weeks old and weighed 10 pounds.

This is my big and round baby Buddha belly.

This is my buddy. He’s a stuffed animal toy beagle that I love to play with.

My first trip to Pet Smart.

We bought stuff that inhibited my freedom like a collar, leash and harness. Then we got good stuff like my bed and lots and lots of toys!!!

I’m cute and I know it!

I got really sick after my second vaccination. I threw up, which isn’t good.  Thank goodness I got better and snapped out of it.  No emergency visit to the vet please!

That horrible Kryptonite laced vaccine made me sick.  But I’m Super Dog and I’m strong like bull!

If I’m not sleeping or eating, then I’m playing.  You have to watch me ALL THE TIME or else I’ll get into trouble.

My first bath. Look at my face. Need I say more?

Great! I smell like flowers. Where’s the nearest puddle of mud?!

Retrieving this leaf and this leaf and that leaf.

Forget the leaf. What’s that over there?

What is this thing you keep sticking in front of my face? What’s that sound?

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

